Monday, December 1, 2008

QUAS DotA Super Gaming Cup 2008 (Recap)


Picture : QUAS Cyber Cafe

Organized by QUAS Cyber Cafe, the QUAS DoTA Super Gaming Cup 2008 took place at its outlet in Pelangi One Avenue, near Damansara Utama, Petaling Jaya. With zero registration fee and total cash purse of RM 4000 on the line, it attracted as many as 64 teams to the cyber cafe.

Day 1 :
According to the bracket, our first opponent, TheConqueror did not turn up and we took an advantage to walkover. Our first round will be starting at 12noon, right after the winner of the lower bracket were decided.


Picture : First team we fought were consisted of Malays. Dun underestimate them!

So it was 12noon, and we fought our 1st match with a team called Moderno. Fairly easy game though, around 50mins and we had a gg. We went for lunch after our first match when the organizer told us that our next match will be at 6pm. OMG = =

Ok. So we went to another cyber cafe at the other corner of the same building (forget its name). Nothing to do there, some of us play RA3, some playing facebook. I`m playing DevilMayCry 4. That game seems very nice and im planning to buy it. :D


Picture : Taking over observer seats for awhile, tired of standing

After playing for few hours, it was 5pm and we took a tea break at a mamak stall (also in the same building). Then, we went back to Quas cafe and standby for our next match. The next opponent we're facing was team Apple. They defeated team Forbidden City using some old but nice strat (PotM+beastmaster). Hence, i advised kkwee to ban their beastmaster. Their last pick was tidehunter, and will be a hard life for us if they play pressure+push.

As expected, about 30mins in the game, they start breaking our outer towers and aiming mid base tower. We've encountered this kind of strat many times before, so we've got a plan to counter it. As their PotM is getting free farm, our spectre which is used by mingli was also having a good time farming. They din bother to gank him because their objective was to eliminate our mid rax asap so that they will have a better life later on.

However, we successfully countered their pushing strat by picking earthshaker and spectre. Earthshaker will be defending all the time while giving chance for spectre to free farm. Im using earthshaker and im feeding all of the time. Haha, sorry guys.
After the match, we're totally burnt out and plan to go home early.


Video : Favourite quote of dota

Day 2 :
It was Day 2 and we expect to meet t-bun w4si during that day. They defeated team It's Okay and standby for their next match with us. We're having a hard time when playing with them. Haha.


Picture : Watching first game played by Vs-BoA at Day 2 morning

First of all, their roster now is totally different from last time. Penang`Ice's key players, Ice`Seanz and Ice`WeNzx together with lucky, monkey and leong built up a great team as compared to their previous roster in SGNDT`08. I was assigned to use NA in the match.

Early game, me and puck (used by mingli) was handling the top lane, facing kotl and zeus. Hard time for us, mana leak+stun by kotl and unlimited mana zeus with 5 clarity potions. Really gay. Haha. Me and puck cannot do anything, so i plan to control rune, trying to help mid. But Sf(used by WeNzx) is really cautious when soloing mid.

I tried to help lanes, as much as possible. But instead of helping, im giving sf chance to become imba. He went down and up several times without let us noticing him, killing us a few times. With zeus and tide's ulti, we failed in engagement several times. Sf was killing all the time while others just assist him. He's overfarmed and overleveled and we cant do anything to him with his 16min bkb. The match result was obviously shown at 30mins, where we're all underlevel and itemless.

After that match, we went to OneUtama, shopping and watch movie. I did not regret why i feed, because i think when fighting strong teams we need to engage more often so that u learn how they engage with most advantage, and backing off safely. If we just play too cautious, we will avoid most engagement, and eventually we will be ending up staying in our base playing tower defense.
P.S - That's my personal opinion. You can give feedback if you do not totally agree. ;)

Guys, we still have a long way to go to reach them. Gambate!

That's all for the report. Thanks for reading!

All of the pictures that i grabbed are sources from Multiplay's Flickr.
Replays can be found here.

2 comments:

Eric aka XiaoYang said...

Nice ahh..
Nice ahhh...
Lala nice blog la..
Nice la...
Nice comment la..
Nice ahh..

Eric aka XiaoYang said...

is this blog dead??